Fracture Mechanics in Nanometer Scale (Prof.Takayuki Kitamura)

December 18, 2018 @ 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
E-JUST – Library (Building 13).

Fracture Mechanics in Nanometer Scale

Takayuki Kitamura

Kyoto University


As materials with nanoscale dimensions are applied in various applications such as semiconductors, sensors, and nano electromechanical systems, the researches on their mechanical behavior have been emphasized until now. Mechanics for materials in nanoscale is significantly different from that in macroscale. For example, internal nano structures such as dislocations, grain boundaries, and various defects can affect the mechanical properties of such materials. In addition, the mechanical behavior of nano components, which has nanoscale characteristic dimension, can be highly influenced these nanoscale structures and surfaces. In fracture mechanics, the fracture characteristics with nanoscale geometric factors of the specimen size and the crack length are also quite different from macroscale one.(1) Hence, the studies on fracture mechanics in nanoscale materials are essential for an understanding of nanoscale phenomena in failure process. However, the experiments in these scales are extremely challenging in fabrications, handlings, and inspections of the specimen and the measurements of load and displacement during the test. In this study, experimental and analytical studies on fracture mechanics for the nano components are investigated. The understandings of nanoscale fracture can provide critical insights for the reliability of the nanoscale devices.


Takayuki Kitamura get the PhD in 1986 from Kyoto University and became full professor in Kyoto University in 1998. He has continuously contributed to Kyoto University through scientific investigation and education as well as administration works. He served as a Vice-President from 2007 to 2008 and the Executive Vice-Director, Dean of Graduate School of Engineering, Dean of Faculty of Engineering from 2016 to 2018 at Kyoto University. He was a council member of Science Council of Japan (SCJ) in 2008-2014 and is a member of SCJ in 2005-2008 and 2014-now. He successively held director positions in scientific societies such as the Society of Materials Science Japan (JSMS) and the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers (JSME) including the President of JSMS from 2014 to 2016 and a Fellow of JSME in 2003-now. He has been continuously awarded by societies such as the JSME awards 5 times, the JSPS awards 4 times and so on.